Julia excitement is in the air!

I’ve had a Julia sticker on my laptop for about a year now. For 11 months, no one noticed, but in just the last few weeks three random people have started a conversation about it. I’ll take that as anecdotal evidence that the buzz is growing! This is in Amsterdam, NL.

I think the next milestone is Julia being so mainstream that people won’t find such a sticker special anymore :sweat_smile:

EDIT: one of those people was @xor0110, only fair to tag him and say hi :slight_smile:

43 Likes

I work in the Bay Area, and my employer takes on a lot of Stanford interns. I realized I should probably learn Julia when it seemed like about half of the Stanford interns were using it. Don’t want to turn into a dinosaur…

28 Likes

I have been using Julia since 2013 at the National Institute for Space Research (INPE), Brazil. By that time, it was so unstable in terms of the language itself, that I did not recommend to anyone. However, I really liked the possibility to end the two-languages paradigm, so I continued to use it. I chose to learn by example, so I coded many functions related to satellite applications that eventually became SatelliteToolbox.jl.

After v0.4, I was convinced that Julia was the future and I became a very annoying guy here telling everyone to use :blush: I even gave 1 point to any student that chose to use Julia for the final exam of a discipline!

Things, indeed, have changed drastically (and very fast). When people saw the capabilities of the language, like this Satellite simulator we developed here:

I am now being constantly asked to give a small training section about Julia here at INPE.

37 Likes

I love this thread! If anyone else has anecdotal evidence of Julia excitement, it would be great to hear it.

10 Likes

One of my colleagues, after I went on for a bit about Julia, said “sounds interesting”. Now that is excitement from him :wink:

10 Likes