Ferrite.jl periodic boundary conditions

Hi, I’m a PhD student working on the multiscale simulation of complex materials. Recently I discovered Julia and the JuAFEM package for my work. I’m trying to do FE² (finite element square). For this purpose, usually the macroscale to microscale transition is done via periodic boundary conditions (PBCs), meaning opposite faces of the mesh (left and right, top and bottom, front and back) are tied, so that two matching nodes on one of the faces are forced to have the same value for all degress of freedom.

I used to work with FEAP and also looked into SfePy. It these programms PBCs are achieved by first fixing all DoF at the corner nodes and then using the command elink in FEAP or epbcs in SfePy to tie nodes on opposite faces. Is there something similar possible in JuAFEM?

1 Like

So this turned out to be quite an odyssey, but I was finally able to solve the problem for different cases and I want to share my solution for future reference. The packages needed in addition to JuAFEM.jl are CoherentStructures.jl and Distances.jl. My solution fixes all corner nodes completely, so all degrees of freedom (dofs) at corners are zero.