Isbits Without Propagation of Parametric Types?

Consider this MWE:

abstract type A end
abstract type B <: A end
abstract type C <: A end

struct D{T <: A}
    data::UInt8
end

struct E
    a::D
    b::D
    c::D
end

struct F{T1 <: D, T2 <: D, T3 <: D}
    a::T1
    b::T2
    c::T3
end

@assert !isbits(E(D{B}(0x00), D{C}(0x00), D{B}(0x00)))
@assert isbits(F{D{B}, D{C}, D{B}}(D{B}(0x00), D{C}(0x00), D{B}(0x00)))

Is it possible to modify E to be isbits without having to specify all of the types within it? In the real example, I basically have two layers that contain several E’s that would otherwise be isbits, and I never use the parameters in function specialization except when passing a, b, and c themselves into functions. I’m new to parametric types, so this might not make sense

I concur, I don’t understand what the question is.

2 Likes

This sounds like an XY problem - Wikipedia to me. Can you be more specific?

2 Likes

D on its own is not a concrete type, it’s a UnionAll, whereas the parametrized version is a concrete type:

julia> typeof(D)
UnionAll        

julia> typeof(D{B})
DataType             

julia> isconcretetype(D{B})
true                       

julia> isconcretetype(D)   
false                      

Julia does not know just from looking at the field in E that you’re never using the parameter of D inside of D - however, that has no bearing on what you could do with it in a function though. Consider (I believe that’s what you’re doing, yes?):

julia> f(e) = g(e.a)               
f (generic function with 1 method) 

julia> g(::D{B}) = "B"             
g (generic function with 1 method) 

julia> g(::D{C}) = "C!"            
g (generic function with 2 methods)

julia> f(E(D{B}(0x0^C              

julia> struct F # just to make this a little easier to read
           a::D                    
       end                         

julia> f(F(D{B}(0x0)))             
"B"                                

julia> f(F(D{C}(0x0)))