Is it possible to use filter(:col => myFilter, df) with additional constant input variables?

Hi all,
I’m very new to Julia and struggling to understand the filter() syntax. I’d like to use filter() to filter a data frame to contain only rows with values in a specific range (like R’s dplyr::between()). I’ve implemented a simple working version of what I want below. However, I am struggling to move the hard-coded lower, upper, and target variables into the function input without breaking the filter call. Is there any way to have the :Col1 => myFilter accept constant input arguments in myFilter so that I can change the target window with each call to filter? What I’d like is to have a line of code in this direction: filter(:Col1 => myFilter(., lower, upper, target), df). Is something like that possible using filter and =>?

Minimal Example:

using DataFrames
df = DataFrame(Col1 = 1:5, Col2 = ["A", "B", "C", "D", "E"])
function myFilter(x)::Bool
    lower = 0.5
    upper = 2
    target = 1
    in_range = x >= target + lower && x <= target + upper
    return in_range
end
filter(:Col1 => myFilter, df)
# -> returns two rows of df that are in range
# Problem: lower, upper, and target are hard-coded inside function.

PS: I’m trying out different approaches to filtering for benchmarking purposes. I’m aware that df[(df[:,"Col1"] .>= target + lower) .& (df[:,"Col1"] .<= target + upper),:] would be one option to solve this filtering problem. If there is a recommended way to rapidly filter down data frames or similar data structures based on a single numeric column (sorted) I’d also be very interested to learn more about it.

1 Like

You asked many questions in one post so it is hard to filter them out. I understand that your main question is how to define a function that would take parameters for filtering.
You can do it as follows:

myFilter(lower, upper, target) = x -> lower <= x - target <= upper

and now you can write:

julia> filter(:Col1 => myFilter(0.5, 2, 1), df)