Invalid redefinition of constant model

Hi everyone.

I’m new to JUlia programming language. I was trying to create my own model for MNIST classification using Flux.
Below is my code:

model = Chain(
  Conv((2,2), 1=>16, relu),
  x -> maxpool(x, (2,2)),
  Conv((2,2), 16=>8, relu),
  x -> maxpool(x, (2,2)),
  x -> reshape(x, :, size(x, 4)),
  Dense(288, 10), softmax) |> gpu

My Graphics card is not compatible for Flux. Hence, i can only use cpu. If I run the above code it shows error regarding the GPU. But, when i change the gpu to cpu in the above code, it shows the following error:

invalid redefinition of constant model

Why is it showing this error? According to my knowledge, this code should run when it is changed to cpu.

I copied this code from:
https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/creating-deep-neural-network-model-learn-handwritten-digits-mike-gold/

Can someone help me.
Thanking you in advance.

You can just remove the |> gpu completely in the model definition. Note that |> is a pipe operator, so the code above is equivalent to model = gpu(Chain(...)) . If you just run model= Chain(...) the model is already on the CPU so there is no need to call cpu(model).

Actually I see that in my case gpu doesn’t do anything, because Flux knows that cuda is not available.
I’m not sure why you are getting the invalid redefinition error in any case as I don’t encounter it if I repeat your steps exactly, with Julia 1.3.1. Which versions of Flux and Julia are you using?

I’m using Julia 1.3.1 and the flux version I don’t know. When I type ‘using Flux’ in REPL, I’m getting

[ Info: CUDAdrv.jl failed to initialize, GPU functionality unavailable (set JULIA_CUDA_SILENT or JULIA_CUDA_VERBOSE to silence or expand this message)

I tried running the code removing |> But, still the same error is coming.
How can I check the version of Flux installed?