Instruct Julia to skip unit testing?

Hi everyone,

I am new to Julia and few days ago had a moment of delight when I learned that Test package offers a very neat way to include unit testing in your code :slight_smile: Since then, I was putting @testset and @test wherever I though useful in my code for computational fluid dynamic simulations (which I am translating from my old Fortran code).

Once all the tests were in place, and were passing, I decided to run a simulation. To my disappointment, the parts of the code enclosed in @testset begin ... end constructs are still being executed when I run productive simulations. I don’t want that, when I test everything I want to simulate and used CPU to crunch numbers, not to test what was tested already.

I wonder if there is a global way to instruct Julia to skip unit testings when performing productive runs?

Cheers

Welcome!

In Julia, tests are placed in a specific file in a specific place and are run only when explicitly testing a package.

Take a look at the Example package to see what that file and location look like: https://github.com/JuliaLang/Example.jl/tree/master/test

and of course, there’s tons of info in the docs: Unit Testing · The Julia Language

2 Likes

If you want to test some conditions at runtime, you can use the @assert macro.

Unit testing is best done in a file located at yourproject/test/runtests.jl. That way you can use Pkg.test() to run the test script in runtests.jl (often this will be a file with include statements of other test files in the test directory).

2 Likes

Thanks.

Thanks Henri. I did put all the tests in the file runtests.jl. It is just so that this file calls all the other functions I wrote for productive runs, which do have embedded @testset constructs.