Indexing strings by Unicode code point instead of code unit?

I am very new to Julia and would like to find out if I want to use it for implementing a library.
For this, I need to deal with Unicode strings and especially offset ranges of substrings a lot. In this context, I would need/want to represent ranges of Unicode characters, i.e. ranges of Unicode code points. However, as I understand, the default indexing of strings in Julia accesses UTF-8 code units, not code points.

This is different from Python, where indexing actually accesses the code points.

My question is: is there some kind of library or alternate string implementation that already deals with Strings properly as sequences of Unicode code points, irrespective of the encoding used? I do not care what representation is used internally, I do care about a string/text being a sequence of code points (even if that may make some string operations a little bit slower or, more like, use more memory for mapping arrays or the like).

UTF-32 strings from GitHub - JuliaStrings/LegacyStrings.jl: Legacy Unicode string types should give you what you want. (Python stores strings in UTF32)

2 Likes

Interesting – do you happen to know if it is possible to not just convert between the UTF32 representation from this library and the default Julia strings back and forth, but more importantly also convert the offsets?

Actually, even more importantly: does this library actually literally convert the string representation? Because I would not actually want that – All I need is s “view” of a Julia string (no matter what the representation) which allows me to index Unicode codepoints.

My issue with the julia strings is not the representation - I do not care about it really, but the way how one indexes/retrieves the elemets of the string: the Julia design decision apparently was to use indexing to retrieve the elements of representation, not the actual elements a string has: characters.