How Would You Compare Metaprogramming in Julia and Tcl?

Hi folks! :wave:

I had a very interesting discussion today with an actual Tcl programmer (never met one before!). He and I were discussing a domain specific language (DSL) he had created in Tcl that had syntax that looked something like this:

I wish this was $blue

Which would produce a little png that prints the exact same Tcl code and changes the color of the text to blue. He had found that writing DSLs in Tcl was very easy given that everything was treated as a string. Additionally, with his DSL, he was trying to keep the semantics and syntax very close to the English language which he found Tcl well-suited to do.

When he found out that I was a Julia programmer, he was very curious – he said that if Julia was better at creating DSLs he’d probably give Julia a serious look. In my mind, I see replicating this sort of syntax as somewhat a challenge but could be done with Julia’s metaprogramming support and tools within the ecosystem. Now, as I am not a Tcl programmer, I was wondering if folks could help me with thinking through the following questions I had:

1. How is metaprogramming within Julia and Tcl similar?
  2. How is metaprogramming within Julia and Tcl different?
  3. Would you say that metaprogramming within Julia is easier than Tcl?
  4. How does metaprogramming within Julia compare to Tcl?

I tried googling around to answer these questions but the intersection of Tcl programmers and Julians is very small. I found a few perspectives like this: Julia Programming Language where Tcl-ers seemed positive on Julia but other than that, it’s very sparse.

Could anyone help me with understanding this space better?

Thanks,

~ tcp :deciduous_tree:

P.S. I found some Tcl-ers in the Julia Discourse so I am CC’ing them in case they want to comment (sorry if this is rude to ping you!): @lmiq @jessymilare @goncharovdk @lkadgrjh