How to test if a function is continuous

I am writing some tests for a package (not yet public) where I want to test that a function f(x::Real)::Real is continuous at some x.

Is there a numerical way of doing this?

A solution I thought of is finding the left- and right limits with Richardson extrapolation, as in

using Richardson

function diff_at_x(f, x, h; kwargs...)
    f_left, f_left_err = extrapolate(f, -h; x0 = x, kwargs...)
    f_right, f_right_err = extrapolate(f, h; x0 = x, kwargs...)
    # roughly, < 1 is OK as limits are conservative
    abs(f_left - f_right) / (abs(f_left_err) + abs(f_right_err) + eps(x))
end

julia> diff_at_x(abs, 0.0, 0.1)

julia> diff_at_x(x -> x > 0 ? sin(x) : sin(x) - 1, 0.0, 0.1)
2.7536530891901533e12
2 Likes

Can you autodiff through it? A similar idea to what you’re doing now would be to compare ForwardDiff.derivative(f, x+eps(x)) and ForwardDiff.derivative(f, x-eps(x)) or something like that.

1 Like

I’m not an expert, but how about using FFT? Shouldn’t discontinuous functions give a sharp peak in a FFT? Due to a sudden change in frequency?

You need a whole lot of frequencies to approximate a discontinuity, so it wouldn’t be a peak. Explaining it as a sudden change in frequency, whatever that means, seems questionable at best. Which frequency would suddenly change to which if you have f(x) = sign(x)?

If the function is sufficiently well behaved, you probably don’t need to extrapolate? i.e. just compare f(nextfloat(x)) and f(prevfloat(x))?

Most AD tools silently take one-sided derivatives at discontinuities and kinks, e.g.

julia> using ForwardDiff

julia> ForwardDiff.derivative(x -> x > 0 ? 1 : 0, 0)

julia> ForwardDiff.derivative(abs, 0)

That’s checking whether the (one-sided) derivative is continuous, not the function itself?

7 Likes