How to solve partial differential algebraic equations

Hi all,

I am quite new to Julia and programming in general. I am currently doing a modelling PhD and I have a set of couple Partial Differential Algebraic Equations (PDAE). I tried solving them on comsol but it is extremely cumbersome trying to rewrite the equations into a format that comsol accepts. So I was wondering if there is a PDAE solver in Julia since I want to eventually shift to a Julia solver for my PhD. Any help will be appreciated thanks in advance.

1 Like

Here is a guide to the pde ecosystem in Julia: GitHub - JuliaPDE/SurveyofPDEPackages: Survey of the packages of the Julia ecosystem for solving partial differential equations

EconPDEs.jl for example solves pdaes, but a very specific type that arise in economics (from HJBs with nonlinear concave objective functions)…
I don’t think there is a general package yet

what kind of PDE do you have?

Hi Chris,

Thank you for replying.

The equations are a set of equations for modelling a battery but unfortunately I cannot use existing packages such as JuBatt since the configuration is very different than them. The solver needs to solve for 7 dependent variables - 5 concentration terms C_OH, C_Zn, C_ZnO, C_H20, C_K and two potential variables phi_l and phi_s. So as you can see the equation 5 is the problematic term here since it is an algebraic equation so I am not sure how to write it in a PDE solver in Julia.

Also on top of that, the exponent adds non linearity to the equations so I am not to able to right away start solving this by direct discretization.

PS Apologies for the handwritten equations. Please let me know if you do not understand something in there.