How to make a C function compiled by myself available to `ccall`?

I am completely new to C and I just wanted to see if someone can help me with making a C function available to ccall. As a MWE I have

// example.c file
#include <stddef.h>

void radix_sort(char **strings) {
	const size_t len = sizeof(strings) / sizeof(char *);
	strings[0] = strings[len];
	return;
}

So I wanted to make radix_sort available for ccall. So these are the steps I have followed

1. Compile the above using gcc example.c -shared -fPIC -o d:/c_lib/example.so
  2. Set the environment variable LD_LIBRARY_PATH to d:/c_lib/. I tried to follow this
  3. In Julia I tried hello = ccall((:radix_sort,"example"), Void, (Vector{String},),["b","a"])

But it gave me an error

ERROR: error compiling anonymous: could not load library "example"
The specified module could not be found.

So it seems that Julia doesn’t know where the library is. So I also tried to compile it like this

gcc -fPIC -c example.c 
gcc -shared d:/c_lib/example.so example.o

and it gave me the same error.

Please help guide me on how to do this. I am on Windows 10 64bit. It seems something I don’t undertand about where Julia is looking for the shared library; it may have to do with my total lack of experience with C given this is the first time I am writing in C.

Background:
I am trying to make a faster string sorting algorithm in Julia but I wanted to benchmark it against a ccall function

I have no idea how the library paths are handled in windows, but I am pretty sure Julia try to find the libraries in those globally defined paths.

According to the docs from https://docs.julialang.org/en/stable/manual/calling-c-and-fortran-code/: