How to learn how to solve equations in Julia 1.0?

How to learn how to solve equations in Julia 1.0? Because I am a beginner, I am only interested in relatively simple problems such as basic optimization. I found a book that seemed relevant but it predates Julia 1.0: Julia Programming for Operations Research: A Primer on Computing.

For example, I have the equation:

1/((1+p)^30)*10,000=100

I need to solve p. How to do it in Julia 1.0?

The example was recently discussed on Statalist. In addition to a partial programming solution in Stata, one user suggested to simply type the input online into Wolfram Alpha which works as a simple non-Julia solution. I considered the Julia packages JuMP.jl, Optim.jl and IterativeSolvers.jl but none seem ready for 1.0. My only attempt in Julia was to simply type the input but then I get this error:

julia> 1/((1+p)^30)*10,000=100
ERROR: syntax: "(1 / ((1 + p) ^ 30))" is not a valid function argument name

I looked at the Julia manual for functions but could not find a relevant usage example.

Take a look at NLsolve.jl

But, you need to have some basic knowledge of programming and understand the syntax of Julia before you can take any benefit from using Julia. The Julia Manual is mainly about the language itself. For a concrete application like solving equations, one typically loads a package for that purpose.

2 Likes

Are you sure, it seems JuMP on master may be ready for 1.0/0.7 (and the others too). You may want to wait for it tagged, or not:

From 5 hours ago (as not merged, Iā€™m not sure if this is complete):

As Norman says, you should try to familiarise yourself with basic programming notions to get a feel for how you can translate your problems into code.

The Statalist post you linked sort of explains how you can achieve what youā€™re trying to do, so porting it to Julia shouldnā€™t be too hard. Youā€™d have to take a two-step approach:

1. Translate your mathematical expression into a Julia function. This could be e.g.: