How to define a system of ODEs with @ode_def and update the value of a variable using a function that depends on time?

Hello, I’m new to Julia and I have a problem with my code. I am defining a system of differential equations using @ode_def of ParameterizedFunctions.jl and I want to determine the value of a variable using a function. However, I only want to change the value of the variable if t > 0. Doing this operation gives me an error because I am using the symbol t in a boolean context.

I know I could do this with a callback, but even though it doesn’t throw errors, it doesn’t give me the correct result.

What should I do? Is there a way to continue using @ode_def or should I simply use a generic function to define the system? I would prefer to find a solution to continue using @ode_def.

Here is the code:

using DifferentialEquations
using ParameterizedFunctions

# Solve odeFB
odeFB = @ode_def begin 
    dGp = ((Vmax * Ge * Gp)/(Km + Gp)) - (k4 * Gp) - (k2 * A * Gp) + (km2 * A) + (km4 * Gi)
    dGi = (k4 * Gp) - (k5 * Gi) - (km4 * Gi) + (km5 * A)
    dA = - (k3 * A) + (k5 * Gi) - (km5 * A)
end Vmax Ge Km k2 k3 k4 k5 km2 km4 km5

x0 = ones(length(odeFB.syms))
p  = (1400, 24.15, 1100, 5.3, 4, 2, 2.3, 5.3, 2, 2.3)
solFB = solve(ODEProblem(odeFB,x0,1000,p); reltol = 1e-12);

# External function to calculate a constant of the equation du[2] of the second system 
function f(t, solFB)
    if t > 0
        i = findfirst(times .>= t)
        return ((((solFB[1,i] - solFB[1,i-1]) / (solFB.t[i] - solFB.t[i-1])) * (t .- solFB.t[i-1])) .+ solFB[1,i-1])
    else 
        return solFB[1,1]
    end
end 

# Solve odeNF
odeNF = @ode_def begin 
    dGp = ((Vmax * Ge * Gp)/(Km + Gp)) - (k4 * Gp) - (k2 * A * Gp) + (km2 * A) + (km4 * Gi)
    dGi = (k4*f(t, solFB)) - (k5 * Gi) - (km4 * Gi) + (km5 * A)
end Vmax Ge Km k2 k3 k4 k5 k6 km2 km4 km5 

solNF = solve(ODEProblem(odeNF, x0, 1000, p); reltol = 1e-12);