How to define a Julia function from C?

Hi all,

I’m a bit new to the Julia community, coming more from the Python / NumPy space. I’ve been using Julia internally for a while, and have spun part of my work out into a open-source package I hope to announce soon.

I’m doing some cross-language stuff (notably Julia and JavaScript), so a fair amount of this work is in C. I’d like to be able to define a new Julia function in C itself. Is this possible? I haven’t found good examples of it online.

Cheers,

Irwin

1 Like

See the embedding example or search for jl_eval_string on StackOverflow.

If you mean define a C function that accepts/returns Julia values (jl_value_t*), then a large fraction of the code in src/ can serve as an example… Just start grepping for ccall(:jl_ in base/. (e.g.: jl_parse_string, jl_new_array, etc.)

You may also be interested in node-julia. I think it’s unmaintained at the moment, but forking and updating it should be a lot less work than building everything from scratch.

Thanks! A search for ccall(:jl showed me exactly what I wanted, which was kind of obvious in hindsight – just a function with some jl_value_t args.

While ccall from Julia is great, is it possible to get the method defined as a global through the C API itself? In my case, I already have a C init function that needs to be called, so I may as well get my global defs set there. Basically, given an appropriate C function, is it possible to combine jl_set_global along with something like jl_method_def / jl_generic_function_def / … (I have no idea what those do) to create a Julia function? Basically I’m after ccall in the C API.

As for node-julia, I’m very aware. It appears great, but also appears unmaintained as you mentioned – it didn’t work for me and I tried to fix it, but couldn’t. I just built new JS bindings from scratch, which may or may not be useful – I’ll announce when I feel they are ready.

Irwin

I’m confused – isn’t the C API for ccall just calling a function in C?