How to convert 3D mesh to voxelated array image?

Dear community. I’m looking for some image related functionality which may already be implemented in Julia. I haven’t managed to find them, but that may be because I do not know what to search for (I’ve limited experience in computer graphics). So before I go ahead reinventing wheels, I thought it might be worth asking here.

I need the following.

1. Given a triangular 3D mesh (i.e. a vector of coordinate vertices, and a corresponding vector of triplets of indices which define the faces), can I get a binary voxelated 3D image which indicates inside/outside region defined by the mesh (i.e. a 3 dimensional array of bools, together with information regarding the extent of the 3D image).
  2. Given a line segment defined by (x,y,z) coordinates of the endpoints, and a 3D image array as described above, give as output an array of bools corresponding to voxel values which the line segment penetrates.

I intend to use the above to calculate whether a line segment is penetrate the mesh boundary. I need to evaluate a large number of line segment per mesh (O(N^2) where N is the number of faces), so I figured that evaluating segments in the binarised representation would be more efficient than to loop over the entire set of mesh faces for each line segment (I might be wrong here).

In any case, is there an image framework or similar which provides this or similar functionality? If not, are there related functionality I could utilize to implement it myself?

Best Jon

I just wrapped TetGen for tetrahedralizing meshes.
It’s a bit in an early stage and unregistered yet, but should be good to use!