How to completely remove a local package?

I am new to julia and I recently developed an experimental package using these procedures: generate mypackge, entered the directory, followed by activate . and dev ., and add mypackage to be able to do using mypackage and begin calling functions defined in the .jl file. All these were done by poking around and finding fractions of instructions from all over the internet. I honestly don’t know very well what these commands does.

Later I created a git repo on bitbucket, and hosted the package there without registering ( I think, I don’t know what to do to register). I did rm mypackage and verified I can no longer do using mypackage, but I can still do ‘add mypackage’, where pkg tells me that this package is identified with my local directory of mypackage. I next attempted to add the same package from bitbucket by doing add git@<url>:mypackage.jl.git, and got the following error:
ERROR: it is invalid to specify multiple packages with the same UUID: <xxxx>

I am not that surprised, but would like to know how to completely remove information about the local package and be able to install from the git repo. Can anyone help me with this?
I am also curious about what dev mypackage does? Why I cannot add the package without first doing ‘dev’?
I’m using windows 10 and Julia 1.4.2.

try ]free mypackage

1 Like

Thank you but unfortunately I got
ERROR: unable to free unregistered package xxxx

]rm mypackage
]add (bitbucket link)

That’s what I did originally, first removing the package then adding the git repo. I got the error

ERROR: it is invalid to specify multiple packages with the same UUID: xxxx

as I posted. I should mention that bitbucket changed the name to all lower case while my local package name is MyPackage. I guess that’s where the “multiple packages” came from?

mv ~/.julia ~/.julia1
start julia and install packages

1 Like

Thanks but too much brute force and does not help me understand