How to assign Matrix with dimensions (1,1) to a scalar

Hello I’m quite new to Julia and coming from MATLAB and Python and I have some trouble with operations that should be quite common but I haven’t found any workaround/solution in the usual places (Manual, Github and here).

The problem is:
I cannot assign the result of a calculation to array at a specific index. The issue is that the type of the result is a Matrix with dimensions (1,1) which is cannot automatically converted to a scalar (why not?)

Example to reproduce:

A = rand(2,2)
B = rand(2,1)
C = rand(1,2)
r = C * A * B
y_ = zeros(10,1)
y_[1] = r

this results in:

MethodError: Cannot `convert` an object of type Array{Float64,2} to an object of type Float64

I know that I could just index r[1] but this also seems overly complicated.
Are there any better solutions to this?
Is it possible to overwrite e.g. convert()?

1 Like

Probably only is the best. That also assures that there is indeed only one element.

Is it possible to overwrite e.g. convert() ?

No, don’t do that. This will probably break things as other code, in Julia itself or in packages will rely on convert working as advertised (this is called type piracy). Only add methods to convert for types which you defined.

3 Likes

You can use r[] (no indices, just the brackets).

The better answer is that you should be using Vectors instead of 1 column matrices. Specifically, this should be

A = rand(2,2) #matrix
B = rand(2) #vector
C = rand(2)' #row vector
r = C * A * B #scalar
y_ = zeros(10,1)
y_[1] = r
8 Likes

Hmm, only() looks interesting thanks

So just to make sure I’m not missing something: In Julia a scalar are not equivalent and cannot be automatically casted to a vector/matrix with one element?

hmm that’s good to know thanks
(but it’s the same workaround like [1] I was trying to avoid)