How to apply a decay for learning rate?

Hello,

I am very new to Julia, so I apologize if I do not explain the problem correctly (feel free to ask me).

I am trying to use this solvers. For the exploration_policy I can use a decay with exploration_policy= EpsGreedyPolicy( MDP,LinearDecaySchedule(start=1.0, stop=0.01, steps=10000)) but when I use it for learning_rate::Float64 it says that it can`t convert to Float64 .

I saw ParameterSchedulers.jl but I do not know if I can use it and how.

Thank you :slight_smile:

Generally speaking, Flux works with Flaot32. Try learning_rate::Float32

Please provide the full command and error message. Ideally a minimal working example too.

This works for example
julia> exppolicy = EpsGreedyPolicy(mdp,LinearDecaySchedule(start=1.0, stop=0.01, steps=10000))
EpsGreedyPolicy{LinearDecaySchedule{Float64}, Random._GLOBAL_RNG, NTuple{4, Symbol}}(LinearDecaySchedule{Float64}(1.0, 0.01, 10000) (function of type LinearDecaySchedule{Float64})
  start: Float64 1.0
  stop: Float64 0.01
  steps: Int64 10000
, Random._GLOBAL_RNG(), (:up, :down, :left, :right))

julia> solver = QLearningSolver(exploration_policy=exppolicy, learning_rate=0.1, n_episodes=5000, max_episode_length=50, eval_every=50, n_eval_traj=100)
1 Like

Hello,

The decay is for the learning rate also

#Q-Learning solver
q_learning_solver = QLearningSolver(n_episodes=1000, 
                                max_episode_length = 1000,
                                learning_rate= LinearDecaySchedule(start=1.0, stop=0.0, steps=1000),
                                exploration_policy= EpsGreedyPolicy(mdp,LinearDecaySchedule(start=1.0, stop=0.0, steps=1000)), 
                                eval_every = 10000, 
                                n_eval_traj = 20, 
                                verbose=true) 

Error

ERROR: MethodError: Cannot `convert` an object of type LinearDecaySchedule{Float64} to an object of type Float64
Closest candidates are: