How close is StaticCompile?

Hello, I am new to the Julia community, and I want to thank you for making a terrific language, wonderful free tools, and very supportive experts that answer questions quickly on Slack and Stack Overflow. I am a big fan.

It was suggested that I raise this issue here

I am a commercial developer who is looking at Julia as a replacement for Python/Cython/C++. I am making an ML product for an employer that is a Java/Python shop. I have written a proto-type in Julia that run 10x faster than my Python version. It is currently being evaluated by several very large customers.

To sell Julia to engineering, I need to be able to package my code in a way that Java and Python can call it, but other engineers do not need to know about Julia. I can not control the architecture, so I need to produce a library.

I used PackageCompiler and PyJulia to plug it into our Python code. This is fine for a prototype, but I think engineering will balk at the 200mb size. Also our build masters don’t know Julia and will have trouble maintaining the build process.

I know that StaticCompiler is under development, and this is a common request

https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=21695331

How far away is it, and where is static compiling in the priority list? How close are we to being able to type ‘make …’ and have Julia code compiled to an optimized library or executable?

Many thanks

Peter

5 Likes