High-order functions prototyping

I’m an old C/C++ programmer so please forgive me for addressing a problem from that point of view.

I have a function that takes, as an argument, another function that the user is expected to supply. A little bit like a sort function where you provide the comparison function.
I have strict requirements regarding the user-supplied function regarding the arguments it takes and what it returns. I would like to make sure this is validated at compile time.

For example, my function is called “foo” and the user-supplied function is “bar”
function foo( c::Int64, bar::function)::Float64

I want to make sure that “bar” has the following format:
function bar(d::Int64, String{})::Float64

How can I enforce this? At least, how can I validate that at run time before running into an error.

Thanks

In Julia, a Function usually has multiple methods, and each method has its own type signature. So the type of the function argument itself doesn’t carry the information that you need, you cannot dispatch on input or output type signatures of functions (like, allow all functions which conform to some signature).

So you will receive some unknown Function object in your function from the user. You can either just call the function and put an assert on the return type like result::Float64 = userfunc(...) and this will error if the output type is wrong. Another option is result = userfunc(...)::Float64 and this will convert the output value and error if that’s not possible.