Help me outperform Matlab in numerical solution of semidiscretized PDE system as much as possible

I am new to Julia and I am considering to adopt it in my professional life, where I often have to solve systems of partial differential equations (often mixed with algebraic and ordinary differential equations).

I typically discretize such systems in space manually and solve the semidiscretized system in time with some differential equation solver. So far, I am doing such work exclusively in Matlab and I would like to find out by how much faster (and potentially more elegant & readable) Julia can be for such endeavours.

To approach this question, I designed an example physical system that is similar in nature to what I encounter frequently in my professional life. The system of equations describes (under some assumptions) one dimensional flow of a gas through a porous solid structure, where heat is exchanged from gas to the solid matrix. In the solid matrix, a temperature-dependent chemical reaction is triggered. The governing equations are as follows:

(1) Energy balance of the solid material: (\varrho c)_{sol} \space \dot{T}_{sol} = + \dot{q}
(2) Energy balance of the gas: 0 = \varrho u \space c_{p,gas}\frac{\partial T_{gas}}{\partial x} - \dot{q}
(3) Momentum balance determining gas flow rate: \varrho u = \zeta \sqrt{\triangle p}
(4) Solid reactand species balance: \dot{c}_{R} = - r_R
(5) Constitutive equation for heat flow from gas to solid matrix: \dot{q} = \alpha A (T_{gas} - T_{sol})
(6) Constitutive equation for reactand reaction rate: r_R = 5.5\cdot 10^6 \cdot \exp(\frac{-5680}{273+T_{gas}})

(\varrho c)_{sol} = 2\cdot 10^6 \frac{J}{m^3 K}, \zeta = 5\cdot10^{-3} \frac{kg \sqrt{Pa}}{m^2 s}, \alpha A = 10^4 \frac{W}{K}, c_{p,gas} = 10^3 \frac{J}{kg K} are parameters of the system.

Boundary condition for equation (2) is a gas inlet temperature T_{gas}(t,x=0) = T_{in}.