Help implementing task parallelism in Julia

Dear fellow Julians,

I’m currently working on a project about using computer vision to monitor vast areas for wild fires. We currently have a working version of the software implemented in Python. The code is running on our server, which receives video streams from various cameras and feed them to our fire detection code, which is implemented using the YOLO (You Only Look Once) algorithm.

One of the goals of the project is to scale this to hundreds or even thousands of cameras monitoring many areas of interest. In order to do that, I’m working on a concurrent version of the algorithm in Julia. Since I’m pretty new to concurrent / parallel programming, I’m not sure I’m approaching it the best way. Thus, I would like to share what I have right now in the hope I could get some useful feedback.

After reading the Parallel Computing section of the Julia manual, this is what I came up with so far:

Functions:

Function Description
poll_camera() polls a particular camera
detect_features() detect features on a single video frame
notify_detection() send notification to the appropriate service

Channels:

Channel Description
frame_channel Used by the poll_camera() function to send frames to the detect_features() function
notifier_channel Used by the detect_features() function to send yolo results to the notify_detection() function

The system actually has many more functions besides the ones listed above, but for the sake of this message the ones above are enough.

As far as I understand, my scenario is one of “task parallelism”, as opposed to “data parallelism”. The code is shown below:

# Channels
const frame_channel    = Channel{Tuple}(128)
const notifier_channel = Channel{Tuple}(128)

function poll_camera(camera_id)

# Grab a frame from the camera stream
	strm = VideoIO.openvideo(camera_id)

while !eof(strm)

read!(strm, video_frame)

# Feed the read frame into the channel 'frame_channel'
		put!(frame_channel, video_frame)