Hamiltonian Monte Carlo gets stuck at tiny local maxima

Hello! This is my first time trying to perform Bayesian inference, and I have found some problematic behavior when using Hamiltonian Monte Carlo. I’d like some help in figuring out what may be going wrong.

I have a likelihood \mathcal{L}(m | \theta,\phi) where m is a (discrete) possible outcome of an experiment that is parameterized by spherical angles \theta \in [0,\pi] and \phi \in [0,2\pi]. I hand-coded the transformations that implement this domain restriction: for \theta I use \theta \mapsto \arccos (\cos(\theta)), while for \phi it is simply mod2pi. These transformations are piece-wise linear, so no need to worry about the Jacobian. For my prior I use the uniform measure on the sphere \sin(\theta) / 2\pi.

Given a series of observations, which I assume to be independent, I need to sample from the posterior in order to obtain information about it. Note that my observations are simulated from a categorical distribution using Distributions.jl.

First, I tried to use Metropolis-Hastings (AdvancedMH.jl). It worked great for this case, but I’m also interested in higher dimensional versions of this problem, and this algorithm didn’t generalize to well (to many samples in order to get reasonable convergence).

Then, I went on to try Hamiltonian Monte Carlo (AdvancedHMC.jl and DynamicHMC.jl), which, in theory, aims to circumvent many of the problems of Metropolis-Hastings, but now I found some strange behavior. Most of the time, I get the expected result, which is show in the figure below:

In the background we have the rescaled posterior calculated over a grid of parameters. The black dots are samples from the distribution and the yellow cross is the true value of my parameters \theta,\phi.

Then, with the same set of observations, I run another chain and I might get this sort of result

or even this

It were as if HMC “saw” my posterior as multimodal, which, as the figure shows, isn’t the case.