Gradient of a loss function : struggling to avoid arrays mutation

Dear all,

I’m very new to Julia and mainly interested in its SciML ecosystem. I’m using Julia 1.5 through JuliaPro.

My problem deals with fitting parameters driving an ODE (eg the Lotka-Volterra ODE from the SciML tutorials) with respect to a set of several initial conditions. I actually assume that I have an array tab_u0 (100×2 Array{Float64,2}) of 100 rows and 2 columns, each row representing an initial condition as the dimension of the state space is 2 (rabbits and wolves). I also assume that I observe the final point (let’s say at t = 10) of the Lotka-Volterra ODE for each of the 100 initial conditions in tab_u0 and that the parameter p is the same for the 100 simulation. My goal is to fit the parameter p (4-element Array{Float64,1}) with respect to the observed final points, which true values are noted tab_uT_sim. As a first step I would like to differentiate the loss function corresponding to my fitting problem.

using DifferentialEquations, Plots
using DiffEqSensitivity, OrdinaryDiffEq, Zygote, Flux
using Random, Distributions

function fiip(du,u,p,t)
  du[1] = dx = p[1]*u[1] - p[2]*u[1]*u[2]
  du[2] = dy = -p[3]*u[2] + p[4]*u[1]*u[2]
end

p = [1.5,1.0,3.0,1.0]

Random.seed!(123)
sampling_dist =  Distributions.Uniform(0.2, 2)

tab_u0 = Array{Float64}(undef, 100, 2)
for i in 1:100
    tab_u0[i, :] = rand(sampling_dist, 2)
end

I tried a first naïve version ignoring the “Mutating arrays is not supported”. To me, this the most natural way to express my problem : define a function that fills an array of end values by looping over initial values. I tried to install Zygote#mutate but there has been no commit for 16 months and I couldn’t make it work on my computer. Here is the code for this first version. It doesn’t work (“Mutating arrays is not supported”).

## Naïve array mutating version
function ode_p_test_1(p_p)
    tab_uT = Array{Float64}(undef, size(tab_u0) )
    a = [1.1, 1.2]