GPU Genetic Algorithm

Hello everyone!

I’m fairly new to Julia and am attempting to enhance the performance of my code.

I have a straightforward optimization problem involving finding the maximum of a function. The variables in my problem are binary variables (0-1), and the objective function is a linear combination of these variables.

The challenge arises from having potentially 10^5-10^6 independent problems to solve. While they all share the same objective function and number of variables, each problem has its set of linear combination coefficients.

To tackle this, I’ve implemented a genetic algorithm using the CUDA.jl package and have endeavored to utilize my NVIDIA GeForce 840M to solve these problems in parallel. However, my 4 GB GPU is insufficient to accommodate 10^6 problems, so I’ve started with 100-1000 problems.

Here are my questions:

1. In the generation loop, I anticipate that each kernel execution completes before proceeding to the next kernel. For instance, does EvaluateFitnessGPU complete before EvaluateBestIndividualsGPU? Is this true?
  2. I’m not particularly fond of preallocating the crossover indices idx1 and idx2 for each generation. I’ve also attempted to generate the indices within the generation loop, but I couldn’t find an efficient way to generate random integers directly using CUDA functions. The conversion from Array to CuArray is time-consuming.
  3. Do you have any suggestions to enhance the performance of my GA?

Context:
I’m currently working on a structural analysis project related to finite element analysis. My objective is to maximize the von Mises stress (or other stress measures like the failure index or maximum principal stress) in a structure by optimizing the scaling coefficients of unit loads applied to it.

Basically, I’m searching the worst load combination for each finite element in my model.