GPU compute & high precision general questions

Yesterday, for my birthday, my wife took me to MicroCenter and gave me her blessing to build a replacement for my 2010 Mac Pro. Soon I had a cart loaded with a 16 core Ryzen 9, case, memory …and in a fit of irrational optimism, I tossed in a 1200 watt power supply and a motherboard that could easily accomodate 2 large graphics cards.
I’ve awakened with a MicroCenter hangover … I’ve never programmed a GPU before! What was I thinking? I can’t even buy a GPU because of the shortage! Assuming that one day GPUs return to the marketplace, like toilette paper did this year, I wonder if you might offer advice for someone interested in GPU compute…
— My computation is primarily FP64. AMD appears to offer more cores for that sort of computation over NVIDIA. However, CUDA seems like the more useful language - and the Julia CUDA tool appears better developed. Thoughts on OpenCL vs CUDA?
— I also need 128 bit or better precision. Is it naive to think I might use GPUs for such work?
— I’m also leaving OSX … I grabbed a copy of Windows 10 … but I recall(?) reading a thread suggesting Linux would be better in GPU applications…?

Most consumer-grade GPUs will have a limited number of Float64 compute units, and I wouldn’t be surprised if your Ryzen 9 outstrips the Float64 performance of any reasonably-priced GPU.

To my knowledge, there’s only been one effort to provide extended-precision support for GPUs, and it’s experimental and may be out of date: https://github.com/lumianph/gpuprec

If you’ve never done GPU computing before, Nvidia’s ecosystem has much better documentation and will be easier to pick up, but given your goals, I’m not sure that a consumer-grade GPU will do much for you.