Good coding practices: How to cluster many variables in function argument

Hello there,

I’m still fairly new to julia, but I guess it is anyway a general programming question.
In my code there are several physical parameters, e.g. mass,speed,height,… as well as numerical parameters for different numerical methods used subsequently, e.g. n1,n2,n3,…, and m1,m2,m3,… (In reality I give them more useful names).

Now I wrote a function which does the main calculation

function fun_unclear(mass,speed,height,n1,n2,n3,m1,m2,m3)
end

However, as there are so many arguments (around 15 or so by now), I wonder which way is the best practice to “cluster” them in smaller groups e.g. having

function fun_clear(phys_params,n_params,m_params)
mass = phys_params[1]
end

in order to have more readable/easier debuggable code. One way I can think of is to introduce some arrays
phys_params = [mass,speed,height,...] before calling the function, but maybe there is another way which you recommend?

The parameters are all numbers, that is floats or integers.

Thank you for your input :slight_smile:

I would personally create a struct with named parameters and types:

struct SimParameters
    N::Int
    alpha:::Float64
    # ...etc
end

This is a pain when you need to add more as you need to restart the REPL if you change the struct, but it is clear what parameter is used in the code and makes the function signature much easier. The types are important for performance. You can make them generic as well if you want.
If there are default values you want, use Base.@kwdef:

Base.@kwdef struct SimParameters
    N::Int
    alpha:::Float64 = 1.0
    # ...etc
end
3 Likes

Another good option is Julia has NamedTuple packing/unpacking which is really good for quickly doing this:

function fun_clear(phys_params)
    (;mass, speed, height) = phys_params
end

phys_params = (;mass, speed, height) # if mass, speed, height are variables already defined somewhere