Get values of symbols inside a function

Hi guys! I have one problem: if I have an array of symbols, how can I get their values inside a function scope?

Something like this:

function f(a::Array{Symbols,1})
    a = 1
    b = 2
    c = 3

# Get the values of the symbols in `a` and return.
end

f([:a,:b])

Then it should return [1;2]. I know that eval will not work because it operates at global scope. So, is there any way to do this?

Thanks,
Ronan

Why don’t you use a Dict?

d=Dict(:a=>1,
       :b=>2,
        ...)
[d[s] for s in a]

Because I want to do operations inside the function with the symbols like:

c = a+b
function f(a,b,c)
etc

If I use Dict, then it will become very difficult to understand, since I will have many symbols.

You cannot (by design) do this. There’s been a fair number of discussions about why, which I won’t rehash here, but what you can do instead is generate the function you want and then call it.

Hi Stefan, thanks for the answer. But I am quite new to julia, what is to generate the function?

I don’t understand your use-case. However, it does sound like it could overlap with my package https://github.com/mauro3/Parameters.jl, which let’s you pack and unpack variables.

Stefan means (I think) that you can create a function with meta-programming to save you typing:

function f(a::Vector{Symbol})
  out = []
  for aa in a
    if aa==:a
      push!(out,1)
    elseif aa==:b
      push!(out,2)
    end
  return out
end

(But again, this you should really do with a Dict.)

Hi Mauro,

No, you are not understanding my use case.

I have tons of variables to simulate a dynamic system. I want to create a system in which I can take all these variables an put in somewhere and then load them to the local scope. This will help a lot for computing the Runge-Kutta solution of ODEs.