Full Win32API headers and bindings for Julia (WIP)

Hi. I have just started programming in Julia.

I needed access to some WIN32 APIs so that I could deal with some threading issues in the Julia runtime. I got tired of making manual definitions, and banged out a really bad .h translator. it is no way a full C parser - it’s just trying to work on windows.h. Though I could certainly pull in some other APIs this way.

Its just WIP, though I did try some calls and they work. There are definitely errors in here, and you’ll get a couple of multiple def warnings because I am not parsing #if correctly. That’s my next fix.

Since I am new to Julia, I am especially looking for feedback on how I am exposing the various win32 structs and definitions. Suggestions welcome on how to make these bindings work best for the language.

Here is the link:
https://github.com/aachrisg/JuliaWin32API

PS: I know it could definitely indent better, etc. Every line of that file was generated by my script, so I figure I can make its output a little prettier when its more complete. I’ll put them in a module when done.

3 Likes

Maybe we shouldn’t parse the headers manually…

Historically, this has required manually redefining the APIs to make them accessible, which is fragile and error-prone. Community projects like GitHub - dotnet/pinvoke: A library containing all P/Invoke code so you don't have to import it every time. Maintained and updated to support the latest Windows OS. (.NET) and GitHub - retep998/winapi-rs: Rust bindings to Windows API (Rust) have taken on the burden of providing strongly-typed and validated API signatures for their frameworks, but the projects are manually maintained, which is hard to sustain and makes it challenging to provide thorough API coverage.