ForwarDiff of a function depending on a mask vector

Hi all,

this is my first post here!

I’m still very new to Julia and I’m enjoying a lot learning about it. I have a simple question for which I couldn’t find an answer, I hope it wasn’t posted already somewhere else.

I’ll make a simple example that shows the problem (the actual code is much more complex, but this is the basic idea): I’m trying to differentiate the following function wrt to x

function my_fun(x,xvals,ids)

out = copy(xvals)
out[ids] = x[ids]

return out

end

Basically, the function returns a vector, some element of that vector are constant (xvals) while others (defined by the mask ids) depend on the input x.

If I have, for example, x = [0 0 0 0], xvals = [1 2 3 4] and ids=[1 2], the function seems to work correctly, but when I try to call ForwarDiff to differentiate it wrt x

zz = ForwardDiff.jacobian(x → my_fun(x,xvals,ids),x)

I get MethodError: no method matching Float64(::ForwardDiff.Dual{ForwardDiff.Tag{var"#5#6", Int64}, Int64, 4})

I can’t really understand what the problem is, since if I try with another function that only returns the selected components:

function my_fun(x,ids)
out = x[ids]
return out

end

the differentiation works without problems.

Can someone explain me what’s wrong?

Thanks

Not at the computer right now, but I think the problem is that you create your array “out” as containing floats and then you want to push dual numbers into it.

Try adding
out = convert.(eltype(x), out)
In between the lines of your function.

Hi vettert,

your reply helped me a lot. It was still not exact, as the type mismatch happens directly when I assign the values x[ids] into a vector of duals out, so I figured out the conversion has to happen directly at the creation of the vector out.

For further reference, this function can be correctly differentiated wrt x:

function my_fun(x,xvals,ids)
out = convert.(eltype(x),xvals)
out[ids] = x[ids]
return out
end