Fortran-Julia interface for program containing non-c-interoperable derived type

I’m still new to Julia (and this discourse), but couldn’t find the answer to this question anywhere.

I have a large Fortran legacy code base which I’m trying to interface with a high-level language. I got something kind of working with Cython, and a MWE for that can be found on StackOverflow here: Fortran C interface for program containing non-c-interoperable derived type.

I’ve read/heard that interface C/Fortran to Julia is really simple, so I want to do the same sort of thing in Julia, I guess with ccall, though I’m getting quite lost.

Here is some Fortran code,

module somemodule
    use, intrinsic :: iso_c_binding
    implicit none

type :: sometype
       integer(c_int), allocatable :: a(:)
       integer(c_int) :: b
    end type

type, bind(c) :: someothertype
       integer(c_int) :: c
    end type someothertype

contains

! example routine that processes the content of the type
    subroutine sometype_x2_f(x)
       type(sometype), intent(inout) :: x

x%a = 2 * x%a
    end subroutine

subroutine sometype_init_f(x, n)
        integer(c_int), intent(in) :: n
        integer(c_int) :: i
        x%a = [(i, i=0, n)]
    end subroutine sometype_init_f

integer(c_int) function sometype_sum_f(x) result(res)
        res = sum(x%a)
    end function sometype_sum_f

subroutine someothertype_x2_f(x)
       type(someothertype), intent(inout) :: x

x%c = 2 * x%c
    end subroutine

end module

which I can compile into a shared .so library and then call into a duplicate of someothertype in Julia:

mutable struct SomeOtherType
    c::Cint
end
x = SomeOtherType(2)

println("x = $x (before)")
ccall((:__somemodule_MOD_someothertype_x2_f, "./libsometype_module.so"), Cvoid, (Ref{SomeOtherType},), x)
println("x = $x (after)")

which gives the expected

x = SomeOtherType(2) (before)
x = SomeOtherType(4) (after)

(hooray)