Formulation of Equations for Complementarity.jl

Dear community. I’m new to Julia and trying to code a Computable General Equilibrium Model. I have a question about Complementarity that I still can’t fully understand from going through various sources on the web.
I know I can have only one complementarity constraint per equation, right? But what I’m not totally sure of is if I have to specify all equations in @mapping setting them equal to zero, which would force me to rethink all equations such that I make sure they are all set equal to 0.

Example:
m=MCPModel()

@mapping(m, equation1, x^a - bq^2 + 5c …) equation is just an example
@complementarity(m, equation1, x)

now does equation1 (featuring x) here have to be set equal to zero ALWAYS or doesn’t it need to be? What alternatives do I have? Sorry if the question is stupid.
Thank you very much.
Best!

Hi @Alio0712, welcome to the forum!

Complementarity.jl is quite an old package. You can now use JuMP directly.

Here’s a tutorial with some MCP examples:

Let me know if you have any questions after reading the tutorial :smile:

1 Like

Hi @odow. Thank you very much. As I’m not so familiar with coding per se (only used R and a bit MATLAB for econometrics) I looked for some examples of General Equilibrium in Julia and the simplest approach I found was using complementarity, not knowing if there was/is something better.
So you recommend to just drop the complementarity package? I will start br trying to readapt the examples I have to JUMP only (as in the documentation you shared) and see if I get the idea. Since I see you’re the core contributor to JUMP (congratulations!), do you happen to know of anyone who works on computable general equilibrium using JUMP? Thank you very much.
Best!

You might have a look at

1 Like

Thank you very much @mthelm85. I have the second reference and will look into it and start small. Best!

So you recommend to just drop the complementarity package?

Yes