Formatting/converting Matrix{Char} into Vector{String}

Hello, I am writing some simple wrappers around an old C library.
I am new to Julia and absolutely new to C, so it might be something obvious.
I have managed to get majority of functions working, but I am unsure about the handling of returned Cchar matrices.
Here is an example:

##C-call:
#    int list_of_signals(int *, int *, char *, int *)
#    char list[24*N]
#    int ierr, id, ndim,  status
#    status = listas_(&id, &ndim, &num_of_sigs, list, &ierr)

Function is supposed to return first num_of_sigs signals in a list corresponding to a given id.

function list(id::Int, num_of_sigs::Int)

ier=Ref{Cint}(0);
	ID=Ref{Cint}(id);
	NSIG=Ref{Cint}(num_of_sigs);
	list=Array{Cchar}(undef,24,n_dim);

status = ccall(("list_of_signals", path_to_lib), Int32, 
		(Ref{Cint}, Ref{Cint},  Ptr{Cchar}, Ptr{Cint}),
		ID, NSIG, list, ier)
	return list, nsr[], status, ier[]
end

Function returns without an error and the output (after some manipulations) looks something like this:

permutedims(Char.(list))=
40Ă—24 Matrix{Char}:
 'S'  'I'  'G'  'N'  '1'  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'  …  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'
 'S'  'I'  'G'  'N'  '1'  '0'   '\0'  '\0'     '\0'  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'
 'S'  'I'  'G'  'N'  '1'  '1'   '\0'  '\0'     '\0'  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'  '\0'
...etc

And I want to convert this Matrix{Char} into Vector{String}
I managed to do it in a relatively ugly way:

list_out=Vector{String}(undef,num_of_sigs)
	charlist=Char.(list);
	for i in 1:num_of_sigs
		list_out[i] = String(charlist[:,i]);
	end

This successfully converts it to a vector of string, however null termination is not eliminated:

String[
"SIGN1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0"
"SIGN10\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0"

And I have an feeling that there should be a more elegant solution (either in the way the input is initially declared and passed to the ccall, or how it is converted/formatted later on)