For loop on a structure's field names

Hi everyone, hope you are all healthy.

I’m a mechanical engineering student and I come from MATLAB, so I am sorry for my heresies.

I have a structure with 13 fields, each of which is a structure with 10 fields, for example:

mutable struct b
   b1::some type
   b2::some type
   b3::some type
   b10::some type
end
struct a
   a1::b
   a2::b
   a3::b
   a13:b
end

I have to loop on the 13 fields to assign a new value at the field b4 for example, how can I do it in Julia?
In MATLAB I used to create an array of strings containing the 13 field names of the struct a:

afieldnames = ["a1" "a2" ... "a13"]

and then with the following loop I can access the field of b4 for each field of a as:

for i = 1:13
   a.(afieldnames(i)).b4 = somevalue
end

I know I can use the fieldnames and then getfield functions as shown in this https://discourse.julialang.org/t/how-to-write-a-fast-loop-through-structure-fields/22535, but I’m not able to do that for structure inside of structures.
Thank you all in advance, and I hope I haven’t broken too many rules!

Welcome!

Before we get into how to do this, are you sure this is actually what you want? You’re jumping through a lot of hoops to do something that would be trivial to do with a regular old vector. For example, what if you were to just replace a with a Vector{b} and b with a Vector{some type}? Then you could loop over the elements of a without needing to do anything special. And, as a bonus, the resulting code will be shorter and much more efficient. I’m happy to provide more detail if that’s a direction you want to go in.

4 Likes

First of all thank you for the attention! It is true that julia comunity is very friendly!!
Shurely I could do it with some vectors and matrices, but it would be messier I guess.