Flux memory usage high in SRCNN

Hello,

First let me preface this by saying I am new to Julia and machine learning. I just wanted to dip my toes into machine learning for fun, started out with OCR using an MLP first and now I’m trying to implement a super resolution neural network (SRCNN), with a lot of help from ChatGPT, the original paper and other resources.

This is all of my code, which I think is already the MWE for my problem.

using Flux
using Images
using JLD2

# Create super resolution convolutional neural network model
function srcnn()
    model = Chain(
        # 3 Channel input for RGB
        Conv((9, 9), 3 => 64, pad=(2, 2), relu),
        Conv((1, 1), 64 => 32, pad=(2, 2), relu),
        Conv((5, 5), 32 => 3, pad=(2, 2))
    )

return model
end

# Return tuples of (low_res, high_res) images
function preprocess_image(image_path, scale_factor=4)
    high_res = load(image_path)
    w, h = size(high_res) ./ scale_factor
    w = Int64(floor(w))
    h = Int64(floor(h))

low_res = imresize(high_res, (w, h))
    upscale = imresize(low_res, size(high_res))

upscale_float = Flux.unsqueeze(float32.(permutedims(channelview(upscale), (2, 3, 1))) ./ 255, dims=4)
    high_res_float = Flux.unsqueeze(float32.(permutedims(channelview(high_res), (2, 3, 1))) ./ 255, dims=4)
    return (upscale_float, high_res_float)
end

# Return vector of tuples of (low_res, high_res) training data
function iterate_over_images(train_dir)
    file_paths = readdir(train_dir, join=true)
    training_data = []
    for path in file_paths
        push!(training_data, preprocess_image(path))
    end

return training_data
end

function main()
    model = srcnn()
    loss(x, y) = Flux.mse(x, y)

opt = Flux.setup(Adam(), model)

@info "Reading in images"
    training_dir = "./train/"
    training_data = iterate_over_images(training_dir)

@info "Starting the training loop"
    for epoch in 1:5
        for i in 1:length(training_data) 
            x = training_data[i][1]