Fixing and freeing variables o JuMP

I am studying a combinatorial optimization problem with JuMP and Gurobi. I need to fix some decision variables for a given number of iterations or a given time limit. After that, I would like to unfix these variables previously fixed and to fix another subset of variables. Iteratively, I would like to perform this process of fix and unfix decision variables in the same run. Is this possible?

1 Like

I am not so sure of how the state of wrapper is currently, but in my personal experience:

This is kinda simple. You can fix with JuMP.fix and unfix with JuMP.unfix (just keep in mind this doing this will erase any previous bounds in the variable, so you may need to save them before and recover them after). And you can control the time or number of iterations by giving it as a limit to the solver.

This is much harder. It depends on the solver callbacks available (and what the solver allows you to do inside a callback), and how is the state of JuMP, MOI, and the solver wrapper (i.e., Gurobi.jl, CPLEX.jl, etc…). If the number of iterations or the time limit are sufficiently large, i.e., some seconds, then there should not be much overhead by starting and stopping the optimization process after the fix-unfix.

1 Like

Dear Henrique,

Thank you very much for your support.

I am using Gurobi, a state-of-the-art solver. I will investigate this issue.

Cheers,
Bruno

I also use Gurobi and I have to say that in my experience it is more limited in terms of callbacks and what you can do inside them than CPLEX. Even so, I am not sure if it is possible to do this in CPLEX. I think what you should search for is if Gurobi allows changing variables bounds inside a callback (or, more generally, adding and removing constraints). If this is possible then you probably can do what you want (you can use a callback that is called every node and then increment a counter or check the time, the question is if you can do what you want inside a callback).