Fit data into a circle

Hi, I’m new to Julia. I’ve been looking for a way in Julia to fit my data into a circle.
My data is a set of (x, y) coordinates, and I want to fit them into a circle to get the centre and radius etc. I know some libraries that do this in Matlab/python but haven’t found similar things in Julia. Is there anything you would recommend? or any reading material that I might have missed?
thank you all very much!

1 Like

The GitHub - JuliaNLSolvers/LsqFit.jl: Simple curve fitting in Julia package will do what you want.

1 Like

Minimize \Sigma_i ((x_i - c_x)^2 + (y_i - c_y)^2 - r^2)^2 by choosing c_x, c_y and r. Use Optim.jl.

5 Likes

Couldn’t you just compute the mean to find the center and the rms distance from the mean to find the radius? i.e.

using Statistics
center = (mean(x), mean(y))
radius = hypot(stdm(x, center[1]), stdm(y, center[2]))
6 Likes

This requires the points to be evenly distributed around the circle.

Not really. If you analytically derive the optimal c_x, c_y and r from the objective in my comment above, you will arrive at the neat recipe suggested by Steven.

Edit: this is wrong. See below.

2 Likes

I’m sorry, I thought @stevengj was suggesting the mean, stdm approach as an alternative to running an iterative solver or optimizer.

This is not the cleanest code in the world (some allocations that could be trimmed at least), and seems a bit fragile with respect to initial conditions, but here’s a working example using LsqFit.

using LsqFit

data = [(-2.0,1.0), (0.0, 3.0), (2.0, 1.0)]

ptrs = 1:length(data)

y = zeros(length(data))

function circle_model(t,p)
	out = []
	x0,y0,r = p
	for ptr ∈ ptrs
		x,y = data[ptr]
		push!(out,(x-x0)^2+(y-y0)^2-r^2)
	end
	out
end

p0 = [0.0, 0.0, 1.0] # using 0.0 as initial radius fails

fit = curve_fit(circle_model, ptrs, y, p0)

fit.param
1 Like

There is no need for an iterative solver if there is an analytical solution :slight_smile:

Thank you all very much!