Finding eigenvectors (simple problems)

I’m studying linear algebra and I’ve run into an issue that I’ve figured out how to solve with Julia, but I’m hoping there’s a better way. Given some simple 2 x 2 transformation matrices, I have to determine which vectors in a list are eigenvectors of the matrix. Here’s an example of a couple of simple problems and how I’ve solved them:

using LinearAlgebra

T = [1 0; 0 2]
v = ([1,0],[1,-1],[0,2],[0,3])

# Which of the following vectors in v are eigenvectors of T?

# The below function computes the angle between two vectors and checks if it's zero
# or π. My thinking was that if the angle is 0.0 (or close to it, given floating
# point error) or π that the vector must be an eigenvector because it will have the
# same span

function is_eigenvector(x,y) 
    return (
        acos(x'*y/(norm(x)*norm(y))) < 1e-7 ||
        round(π, digits=5) < acos(x'*y/(norm(x)*norm(y))) < round(π, digits=4)
    ) ?
    true :
    false
end

julia> v[findall(vec -> is_eigenvector(vec, T*vec), v)]
([1, 0], [0, 2], [0, 3])

T = [-3 8; 2 3]
v = ([-1,-1],[1,1],[0,2],[4,-1])
julia> v[findall(vec -> is_eigenvector(vec, T*vec), v)]
([-1, -1], [1, 1], [4, -1])

The problem with this approach is that sometimes I get a very, very small number (e.g., 2.1073424255447017e-8) due to what I assume is floating-point error so I’m wondering if there’s a better approach to solving this kind of problem. I’ve seen the eigen and eigvecs functions but I don’t understand how to use them in this context since eigvecs for example just returns a matrix:

T = [-3 8; 2 3]

julia> eigvecs(T)
2×2 Array{Float64,2}:
 -0.970143  -0.707107
  0.242536  -0.707107

# Can this output somehow be used to determine that ([-1, -1], [1, 1], [4, -1])
# are eigenvectors?

Your assumption is correct. Since you have all integers in the problem my hint would be to look for ways to determine whether two vectors are parallel that only require integer computations.

1 Like