Find the position of a single non-matching character between two strings

To find the position of a single non-matching character between two strings:

s1 = "part1_Z_part2.txt"
s2 = "part1_Y_part2.txt"

ix = findfirst([!=(c[1],c[2]) for c in zip(s1,s2)])

Is there a simpler way to write findfirst without creating the temporary vector? Is there a better way?

1 Like

Maybe the definition of simple can be discussed, if plain old for loop are an option, then the following code works, is readable and doesn’t allocate. (But it is not a one-liner :wink: )

function firstdiff(s1, s2)

if length(s1) != length(s2)
    return min(length(s1), length(s2)) + 1
  end

for (i,(c1,c2)) in enumerate(zip(s1,s2))
    if c1 != c2
      return i
    end
  end

return 0 
end

(Oh, I just noted your profile name, so it wasn’t a beginner question. For sure that solution was obvious to you anyway :see_no_evil: )

2 Likes

It is definitely better and it is simple, but not simpler.

1 Like

Ok, I have an obscure, (not simple), non-allocating one…

minimum( (a==b) ? typemax(Int64) : i for (i,(a,b)) in enumerate(zip(s1,s2)) )

:smiley: [It’s somehow surprisingly funny/difficult to find a good one-liner given how simple the question is.]

1 Like

No access to computer here, but does it work with a generator instead of an array comprehension? I suspect it requires indexing, though.

It doesn’t, as you suspect. findall needs keys to get the index to return, and keys isn’t defined for zip (related (stale) issue)

1 Like

Somehow not…

julia> findfirst( a!=b for (a,b) in zip(s1,s2) )
ERROR: MethodError: no method matching keys(::Base.Iterators.Zip{Tuple{String, String}})
Closest candidates are:
  keys(::IndexStyle, ::AbstractArray, ::AbstractArray...) at ~/julia/1.7.3/share/julia/base/abstractarray.jl:350
  keys(::Tuple) at ~/julia/1.7.3/share/julia/base/tuple.jl:72
  keys(::Tuple, ::Tuple...) at ~/julia/1.7.3/share/julia/base/tuple.jl:77