File output, binary

I’m totally new to reading and writing things in files, so even if I use words like stream or stuff like that when coding, I do not truly understand them (and still not completely interested).

I found a way to write and read convenientely in binary stuff like values and vectors in Python and C++. I recycle them in each program.

I tried seeing in the documentation and an older thread makes use of Serialization.serialize, but when i tried it out it says “stream not defined”.

I just need to let a file open, loop while it’s open and write stuff in each iteration in binary.
Then i close it.
After this i want to read it and put stuff inside an array. To do this i use read! function as pointed out in Reading binary data from a file

Here it says that to create a binary file i just need to use write Educative Answers - Trusted Answers to Developer Questions

And it could be true, given the fact that using it and trying to open the files it’s stuff like the one that I used to see when using C++ and python.

Could you confirm?

If you already have your data assembled, you can indeed write it with

write(filename, data)

For more flexibility you can use the common open-write-close approach

f = open(filename, "w")
write(f, data)
# You can add additional writing before closing the file.
close(f)

Another variation is

open(filename, "w") do f
    write(f, data)
    # Optionally more writing.
end

which will close the file automatically and even if there is an error during the write operations.

3 Likes

For serialization, try this:

using Serialization

let
  myarray = rand(Float64, 2, 2)
  serialize("mytestfile", myarray)
end

let
  deserialize("mytestfile")
end
# returns array

For a quick primer on streams, this may help.

3 Likes

I got stuck with reading to be honest.

I read from the documentation:

read!(stream::IO, array::AbstractArray)
read!(filename::AbstractString, array::AbstractArray)