Extend a bunch of functions within (sub)modules – best practice

Lets say I defined a new abstract datatype and have a few functions and algorithms to run. Here’s a sketch of my code

module A
import Base.norm, Base.length
export norm, length, AType
abstract AType
function norm(a:AType,...) #some more parameters maybe
  error("Not available for your subtype");
end
function length(...)#again some parameters
  return norm(...)/2;
end
function alg1(a::Atype, b::aType)
  # Compute and return something maybe using norm and length
end
end # module A

And due to the error in the general norm there any subtype has to implement that (is there a nicer way to enforce implementation?)

module B
import A.norm, A.length
export norm, length #necessary? I think so...
export BType <: AType #subtype
function norm(b:BType)
  #implementation for b
end
# also extend length()...skipped for shortness
end #module B

I’m new to Julia so i’m not sure whether modules are the right way. My problem is, that i’m not having 2 functions like in the short example but let’s say 8 or 10, and maybe half of them stem from Base the others are introduces as norm in the „UberType“ module A.

As far as i got it working, any new type CType, DType, EType (getting its own module), has to import A.norm and all other (8-10) functions and export them to make the extension „publicly“ known.

Is there a nicer way to let a specification happen? I am sure, this idea here looks a lot like OOP, that’s where I’m coming from and maybe I’m thinking too much in these ideas.
I would like to avoid import/exporting all the functions just to extend them in every new module extending AType into another specification.

How can I achieve this?

Despite that I slowly like the way Julia works (though I haven’t gotten to the part where I can see performance, because I’m just starting).