Essential tools for neural network based PDE solvers

Chris’s post The Essential Tools of Scientific Machine Learning discussed several tools that are “essential for scientific machine learning” including probabilistic programming, structured linear algebra, discretizing partial differential equations, LU and QR factorizations, uncertainty quantification, and global sensitivity analysis. Are these tools only essential for (conventional) numerical solving methods or still essential for neural network based PDE solvers too? If the latter, is there any reference explaining how each of these tools can contribute to NN-based solvers? I am new to PDE solving and sorry for my naive question.
Thanks.

Another question, can NN-based PDE solvers completely replace the numerical ones? If no, what are the remining challenges? Is there any reference discussing this problem in detail?
Thanks.

Check out the package: NeuralNetDiffEq
It uses Flux to solve pdes. The literature has shown these tools can solve high dimensional BSDEs very fast. If you read the issues in this package you will see work on using Deep learning for solving general pdes as well.
NN pde solvers provide an additional strategy to solve certain classes of PDEs.
It is too early to say how broad of a class of pdes it can solve…

2 Likes

Copying my reply here as well.