Embedding Julia code in Fortran

Hey everyone,

I am fairly new to Julia and am interested to do machine learning with it. So far I learnt how to code in Julia and how to use the Flux library. Yet, My goal is to use trained neural networks in a fortran code. I saw on the Julia page that it is possible to embed Julia code in C/C++, but I can’t manage to find the way to do it in fortran. Does anyone have an idea?

1 Like

A cleaner way is to bind to ONNXRuntime from Fortran so you don’t need Julia runtime for inference, after some searches, it appears that this doesn’t exist..

It is much easier to interface the other way around. It is conceivable as a workflow to have a main julia code that calls your fortran routines?

In general Julia will be much friendlier for file manipulation, visualization, and the higher-level stuff, and usually one could let some lower level tasks to Fortran if there are nice routines available for one’s purpose.

5 Likes

Thank you very much for your answers, so I agree with the fact of using Julia for higher level stuff, yet I am working on a fortran code that already exists and we want to add some machine learning to replace some operations in the code. In order to use Julia as the main code to use machine learning algorithms, I would have to rewrite most of the existing optimized fortran code, which isn’t really what we want, hence my question of embedding Julia code in fortran.

Since there is no better answer, unfortunately, I would just point that probably you would need “only” a wrapper for the main Fortran program. You could convert the main fortran program into a subroutine, and call it from Julia. Or create a new “main” program in Julia and call all the subroutines of Fortran from it. Of course how hard is that depends a lot on the the complexity of the program.