Eigen not working for arbitrary precision BigFloat

I try to use the function eigen defined on a matrix with BigFloat entries. The method does not work.

julia> matrix = [BigFloat(2) BigFloat(3); BigFloat(3), BigFloat(2)]
julia> matrix
2x2 Matrix{BigFloat}:
  2.0   3.0
  3.0   2.0
julia> eigen(matrix)

produces an issue.

The same issue does not arise if I simply define my matrix as

julia> matrix2 = [2.0 3.0; 3.0 2.0]

How can I use linear algebra routines with matrices made out of arbitrary precision floating point numbers as entries?

Thank you very much in advance. I am new to Juila and also would appreciate if I could be directed to the right place to request implementations of this sort.

1 Like

Welcome!

Two points:

1. what error do you get? Please post the full error message.
  2. Are you certain you need arbitrary precision? Would a 128 bit Float also be enough? It would be much more performant than true BigFloats. Quadmath.jl would be one package supporting this.

Have you tried using GenericLinearAlgebra.jl?

2 Likes

Thank you for the response. The error message I get is,

ERROR: MethodError: no method matching eigen!(::Matrix{Complex{BigFloat}}; permute=true, scale=true, sortby=LinearAlgebra.eigsortby)
Closest candidates are:
  eigen!(::SymTridiagonal{var"#s832", V} where {var"#s832"<:Union{Float32, Float64}, V<:AbstractVector{var"#s832"}}) at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.6/LinearAlgebra/src/tridiag.jl:280 got unsupported keyword arguments "permute", "scale", "sortby"
  eigen!(::SymTridiagonal{var"#s832", V} where {var"#s832"<:Union{Float32, Float64}, V<:AbstractVector{var"#s832"}}, ::UnitRange) at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.6/LinearAlgebra/src/tridiag.jl:283 got unsupported keyword arguments "permute", "scale", "sortby"