Distance matrix + clustering with custom distance function

Hi I’m new to julia and trying to figure out the best way to compute some distance matrices and evaluate how good my clustering is…

I have a custom distance function like this:

dist(w::Array{<:Real,1}, p::Int64 = 2) = (x, y) -> sum( w'.(min.(abs.(x-y), abs.((x-y) + repeat([0, 360, 180, 0, 0, 0, 0, 360],6)))).^p)^(1/p)

The reason its complicated is that it’s a distance function where some of the variables are periodic and some of the variables are on the real number line. Otherwise it’s a weighted minkowski norm. Also, the periodicity is 360 in some cases and 180 in others.

I have data in CSV files that I want to load for various classes, and I do so like this:

> data = Dict(splitext(basename(f))[1] => CSV.File(f) for f = Glob.glob("*.csv", "./sample-data/"))

Dict{String,CSV.File{false}} with 12 entries:
  "class1" => CSV.File("./sample-data/class1.csv"):…
  "class2"   => CSV.File("./sample-data/class2.csv"):…
  "class3" => CSV.File("./sample-data/class3.csv"):…
 ... etc

So far so good…

now I want to do things like:

• compute a distance matrix between two of the classes. I tried Distances.jl; didn’t see a way to run a custom distance function in the documentation.
  • compute a distance matrix for all the data (~2000 rows, 48 features; would be a 2000x2000 distance matrix) so I can see whether my distance function accurately recovers the classes (elements of one class are “closer” than elements of other classes)
  • try clustering (agglomerative or density based) with this distance function and validate that the clusters I find are sensible and do not contain mixed data. meaning that I have a strong idea of what “distance” means in this data set
  • some kind of “search” to find good weights for the distance function