Disk based data manipulation framework needed

SAS is big in the corporate world. I work in the finance industry and SAS is still quite big. To be honest, using SAS is a pain. SAS can’t even syntax highlight its own language properly. But it’s still there because it has one trick – disk-based data manipulation and associated algorithms.

Ten years ago when I introduced R to my workplace, people were skeptical – you can’t load a large dataset in R and manipulate it like in SAS. That’s because in R the dataset needs to be loaded into memory and at that time the largest laptop only had 4G of RAM. Today, 32G RAM laptops are becoming the norm but still I can’t load really large (50G) datasets into RAM.

I think Julia and R can replace SAS by implementing disk based data manipulation as a first class citizen. Also can most algorithms works once the data becomes disk based? If not then Julia still can’t replace SAS, because most of SAS’s algorithms (e.g. proc glm) works off disk based data

2 Likes

I am not sure I understand what you are saying. If you are advocating the development of libraries that have functionality like SAS, the best way to do that is to start working on one.

If you are asking about disk-based data access: it is very easy to do for large data using mmap. I am in the process of working on a project that involves this, and will do a blog post soon, but the principle is very simple: map a file and and array, and from then on just access your data with [].

2 Likes

Nice. I have started working on some functions that work on feather files stored manually as chunks. Hoepfully it will turn into a package later on. I will look into mmap seems prettt cool.

Looking forward to your blog post. I represent the proportion of people who have never heard of mmap before.

Have you looked at JuliaDB.jl?

2 Likes