Differentiating through optimization problem

Hello all,
I am very new to Julia, and I intend to migrate from Matlab to Julia. I was very intrigued with automatic differentiation, and worked out a few problems by hand, to understand the concepts behind reverse mode and forward mode AD. But in all these, it seems that you need to have a function in hand (say f(x,y) = x^2+x*y).

I have the following issue though, I have an equation lc, which is a function of six variables: px, py, pz, phi, theta, psi. Here, the variables phi, px, py and pz are dependent on psi and theta, but I do not have their mathematical expressions. Is it possible to implement reverse AD to find the derivatives of lc, with respect to psi and theta? How to do so in enzyme? I profusely apologize for the lack of MWE.

1 Like

Welcome!
What you are looking for is called implicit differentiation: differentiating through a function which is given “implicitly”, by an equation.
I have implemented this in Julia with the package ImplicitDifferentiation.jl, I encourage you to take a look and see if you manage to use it. If not, post some self-contained code on here with your equation and the solver you want to apply, and I’ll help you!
Note that my package is not yet compatible with Enzyme.jl, so you will have to perform the differentiation with Zygote.jl or ForwardDiff.jl for now.

1 Like

Hello, thank you very much for replying!. I shall go through the package ImplicitDifferentiation.jl and let me see how much I can progress. I will get back with my progress.
Thanks again, for your support!

1 Like

Hello again, I have gone through the package ImplicitDifferentiation.jl, and I am not quite sure if this is what I require, for my problem. The function that I want to differentiate is:
lc=(((-1).*PZ+(-1).*br2.*cos(psi).*sin(th)).^2+((-1).*PX+(-1).*br2.*((-1).*cos(th).*sin(phi)+cos(phi).*sin(psi).*sin(th))).^2+(br2+(-1).*PY+(-1).*br2.*(cos(phi).*cos(th)+sin(phi).*sin(psi).*sin(th))).^2).^(1/2)