Difference between SharedArrays and DistributedArrays

Hello,

I am struggling with understanding the difference between SharedArrays and DistributedArrays.

I do not understand (I am pretty new to parallelism) what is meant by (from the documentation)

Shared Arrays use system shared memory to map the same array across many processes. While there are some similarities to a DArray, the behavior of a SharedArray is quite different. In a DArray, each process has local access to just a chunk of the data, and no two processes share the same chunk; in contrast, in a SharedArray each “participating” process has access to the entire array. A SharedArray is a good choice when you want to have a large amount of data jointly accessible to two or more processes on the same machine.

SharedArrays: I understand that the same array is copied for each of the cpus. So, if I have a vector with N components and P cpus, I will end up with a stored vector of N*P components.

DistributedArrays: I understand that only one array exists and each cpu has access to a portion of the array.

I would like to understand what’s the difference between these two types of data. In case it helps, I intend to run my code in a single machine with multiple cpus. Specifically, I have a vector of dimensions (d,N) with N d-dimensional initial conditions to be run using Newton’s method. I would like to run each initial condition on a different cpu.
Pseudocode:

xIni # array of dimensions (d,N) with initial conditions
xOpt # array of dimensions (d,N) to store optimal solutions
for n in 1:N
  xOpt[:,n] = RunNewton(xIni[:,n])
end

Could you please tell me what is the difference between the two types of data, and which one is the most useful in my case?

Thank you very much in advance.

Best regards.

2 Likes

No, SharedArrays are shared, not copied.
If you have a SharedVector of length N on P cpus, you will only need memeory for those N elements, even though all P cpus have access.