Decision-dependent randomness in SDDP.jl

Hi everyone,
I’m quite new to Julia and SDDP and may ask a silly question.

I’m trying to optimize the preventive replacement of some devices over several stages. I assume that know the lifetime distribution of the devices, which suffer from aging. Aging means that when the device gets older, it becomes more and more prone to failure (eg weibull distribution but not exponential). The randomness here represents the failure of the device (eg 1 if we observe a failure, 0 if the device survives).
I tried to figure out how to represent this randomness in that problem, and as the device suffers from aging, I cannot assume that the randomness is stagewise independent. Therefore I’m thinking of a markovian representation by considering the 2d random element (failure, age of the device). This leads to a rather large (but that’s another problem) but very sparse transition matrix that evolves with time to reflect aging. There’s one problem with that representation : the transition matrix at stage t not only changes with time but it depends on the decision taken at stage t-1. Indeed, if I replace my device at stage t-1, I’m now dealing with a fresh new device with the corresponding transition matrix (encouraging survival until the next step and, as a direct consequence, incrementing the age of the device by one) whereas if I choose to keep my device in place, the transition matrix keeps on “aging”.

Here is my question : does SDDP.jl handle decision-dependent randomness ? or is there a more clever way to formulate the problem ? Should I rely on other algorithms to solve my problem ?

Thanks and sorry if the description of the problem is rather vague.

does SDDP.jl handle decision-dependent randomness?

Nope.

I often find that “decision-dependent” really just means that there is some part of the problem that you are not modeling.