DecFP type conversion to Integer

Hello, I’m a newbie and I’m using the ODBC package to query data and it’s returning integers as type Nullable{DecFP.Dec64}. I need to pass that as a string in a second query but it won’t let me convert the variable from Dec64 to Int or String.

I’ve tried both convert(Int,var) and Int(var) and they both return this error

ERROR: MethodError: Cannot convert an object of type Nullable{DecFP.Dec64} to an object of type Int64

The Nullable type is something I’m having a lot of trouble grasping how to handle. Any help?

try convert(Int, get(x)) where x is your Nullable variable.
can use isnull(x) where appropriate.

see https://docs.julialang.org/en/stable/stdlib/base/#Nullables-1

1 Like

Thanks for the help, that worked, but is it just me, or is that just not unintuitive. Why do we have to “get” a value. Is there a case where convert(Int, x) is somehow ambiguous in what the end user wants to achieve?

Well I suppose you could define something like this:

Base.convert(::Type{T}, x::Nullable) where {T} = convert(T, get(x))

Thanks for the suggestion. But I’m just asking because of my inexperience with Julia and the nullable type. This isn’t intended as a confrontational question, but really for better understanding. Is there some use case where you wouldn’t always want to do this? What would break if the default convert used this logic?

Missing data handling is undergoing a large change before 1.0 because nullables are just unintuitive to work with. This should essentially fix itself soon.

1 Like

Are you sure? DECIMAL in SQL isn’t just for integers, so first if you’re using that type, even just to store integers, consider using an SQL integer-only type (I see in ODBC.jl SQLDECIMAL and SQLINTEGER).

Also consider using a NOT NULL constraint (defined for a column with e.g. CREATE TABLE) as much as possible, at least for any kind of numbers.